A wine delivery and some thoughts on charity

Castellore Chianti DOGC and Philippe Michel Cremant Du Jura Chardonnay

Castellore Chianti DOGC and Philippe Michel Cremant Du Jura Chardonnay

Much excitement this evening as the first Aldi Wine Club wines arrived. I’ve got a Castellore Chianti DOCG and a Philippe Michel Cremant Du Jura Chardonnay to have a try in the coming days and tweet a review of. I think I’ll try to match them with an appropriate meal in order to taste them in their best light.

But more on that later. Receiving these bottles of wine, for free got me thinking. There are a lot of terrible things going on in the world right now and as it’s coming up to Christmas it seemed like a good time to support some charities that are doing great work to help alleviate some of the suffering. So, seeing as I’m getting something for nothing over the next three months, I thought I’d donate some money (roughly equivalent to the value of the wines I’ll be receiving).

The charities I’ve chosen to donate to are the British Red Cross and Shelter.

With the humanitarian crises in Syria and Yemen, the work the Red Cross do in getting food and medicine to those who desperately need it is more important than ever. And Shelter report that 120,000 children in England will be homeless this Christmas. In my opinion, that’s a national scandal, but their advice, support and legal services will help people in this country find a safe and affordable home.

Anyway, just some food for thought.

 

Leave a Reply

