Festive sausage rolls

Cranberry sausage rolls

Cranberry sausage rolls

We had a Christmas fuddle* at work this week and I decided to make some sausage rolls with a twist. I never make my own pastry – the ready-made rolls of pastry you can buy do the job perfectly well – so sausage rolls are a great buffet food that require very little time and effort.

Inspired by a recipe I saw tweeted by Aldi I thought cranberry would add a nice sweetness and moisture to a standard sausage roll. I then looked at the jar of red pepper relish (homemade by my mum) in the fridge and thought I’d give that a try too – why not?

Start by unrolling the puff pastry and cutting it in half to make two long, thin pieces of pastry. Then I spread cranberry sauce over one piece and red pepper relish over the other. After that, I squeeze the filling from the skins of six sausages and put it down the middle of the pastry pieces. I use decent quality, high meat content ones this time – I’ve used sausages with caramelised onion or leek in the past, but this time I wanted plain pork so as not to over-complicate the flavours.

Then fold the pastry over to make two long sausage rolls, crimp the edges with a fork and brush with a little beaten egg. Using a sharp knife, cut into whatever size rolls you want and put on a baking sheet lined in greaseproof paper. I sprinkled the red pepper relish ones with sesame seeds just to differentiate them from the others.

 

Then bake in the oven at 200° for about 25 minutes. They should be puffed up and golden – like this:

Then all that’s left is to wait till they’re cool enough to cram down your throat. Or maybe that’s just me. Maybe you’ll be a little more civilised.

Have a great Christmas and New Year, however you’re spending it. Whatever you do, don’t hold back on the eating – I certainly won’t be!

*Collins defines a fuddle as “a communal buffet for a special occasion; typically hosted within the workplace”. The Urban Dictionary has a different interpretation entirely. This was definitely the Collins type of fuddle.

 

Leave a Reply

