Aldi Wine Club – Exquisite Selection Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc

Exquisite Collection Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc

Exquisite Collection Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc

It’s month two of Aldi Wine Club! January’s wines are the budget red, Toro Loco Superior (blog post to come), and this more premium priced Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand.

I have a particular fondness of wines from the Marlborough region of New Zealand since I did some wine tasting there when travelling a few years ago. So I had high expectations as I took my first sip of this one. And I wasn’t disappointed; Samana and I both really enjoyed this crisp, dry Sauvignon Blanc. We paired it with a Mexican Caesar Salad and the crispness of the wine contrasted really well with the heat and tangyness of the food.

The tasting notes provided suggested that we should be getting ‘complex aromas of white stone fruits and blackcurrant’ and ‘flavours of lime-drizzled nectarine’, but for me the standout flavour was that of crisp green apples.

At £7.49 it’s one of Aldi’s more expensive offerings but I’d say it’s definitely worth splashing out on.

Leave a Reply

